League Cup
Sat 21 Jan 2012 : Marstons Stadium / 15:45

Afan Lido

2 - 0

Aberystwyth Town

Andrew Hill (p) 12'
Mark Jones 26'
Lido have the advantage
AFAN Lido have the advantage going in their second leg League Cup tie after beating Aberystwyth Town 2-0 at the Marston's Stadium.
The hosts made full use of a strong wind at their backs in the first-half and took the lead when Mark Jones was baulked in the box by Dave Swanick and Andy Hill scored from the penalty spot.
Jones doubled the lead midway through the first half when a long ball forward from Danny Thomas found Carl Payne, who got the better of defender Aneurin Thomas before squaring for the striker to net from in front of goal.
Lido keeper Chris Curtis made a good save to deny Geoff Kellaway from Andy Parkinson's pass in a rare threat from the visitors before half-time.
But the visitors improved with the advantage of the wind and Andy Parkinson fired wide from a good position soon after the restart.
Payne missed a chance to extend the home lead from Anthony Finselbach's excellent through ball but it took another good save from Curtis to stop Lewis Codling's effort finding the top corner.
The Seasiders plugged away and were finally rewarded in the final minute when sub Alex Ricketts fouled Ricky Evans inside the box, but the midfielder's penalty was well-saved by the excellent Curtis.
Chris Curtis
Daniel Sheehan
Craig Hanford
Kristian James
Carl Evans
Anthony Finselbach
Carl Payne
Daniel Thomas
Mark Jones
Andrew Hill
Leon Jeanne
Line-ups Steven Cann
T Craig Williams
Michael Howard
Aneurin Thomas
Sion James
Dave Swanick
Geoff Kellaway
Josh Shaw
Lewis Codling
Ricky Evans
Andy Parkinson
Mike Davey
Liam Thomas
Shane Williams
Alex Rickett
Liam Davy
Alex Gammond
Sam Hodge
Subs Carl Lamb
Krzysztof Nalborski
Liam James
Alex Samuel
Alex Rickett > Daniel Thomas 80'
Liam Thomas > Mark Jones 85'
54' Carl Lamb > Josh Shaw
76' Krzysztof Nalborski > Lewis Codling
89' Liam James > T Craig Williams
Kristian James 22'
Chris Curtis 73'
Carl Evans 89'
14' Sion James
88' T Craig Williams
  Richard Harrington     212