Welsh Premier League
Sun 10 Oct 2010 : Park Hall / 14:30

The New Saints

5 - 0

Aberystwyth Town

Alex Darlington 15'
Richie Partridge 28'
Richie Partridge 44'
Richie Partridge 58'
Matthew Berkeley 77'
Saints go nap against Seasiders
TNS v AberystwythRICHIE Partridge led the way with a hat-trick as The New Saints hit back from defeat at Bangor to smash Aberystwyth 5-0 at Park Hall.
But it was right-sided wingman Craig Jones who was the Saints' destroyer in chief, having a hand in all three goals before half-time.
The Wales Under-23 semi-pro did superbly to get to the byline before pulling the ball back for Alex Darlington to net the first goal on the quarter hour.
Jones then provided the crosses for Partridge to open his account after 28 minutes and for Darlington's stepover, which allowed Partridge to add the third.
The only moment of controversy arrived midway through the half when Irish exchange referee Neil Doyle awarded a free-kick to TNS after a clash between Chris Marriott and Craig Williams, with the Seasiders claiming a penalty.
The Saints shrugged-off the absence of suspended skipper Steve Evans and injured duo Pip Baker and Chris Sharp, and also enjoyed the luxury of leaving Matty Williams and Scott Ruscoe on the bench.
But they were rarely troubled at the back and the second-half was a stroll in the sunshine for the reigning champions as the disappointing Black & Greens were kept on the back foot.
Partridge completed his hat-trick just before the hour after Marriott had ferried on a long ball and Matthew Berkeley made it five when he seized on a defensive error by sub Aneurin Thomas.
Photo: Alex Darlington outpaces the Aberystwyth defensive cover.
Paul Harrison
Danny Holmes
Chris Marriott
Tommy Holmes
Barry Hogan
Chris Seargeant
Craig Jones
Alex Darlington
Aeron Edwards
Richie Partridge
Matthew Berkeley
Line-ups Steven Cann
T Craig Williams
Gareth Hughes
James McCarten
Sion James
Conall Murtagh
Lewis Codling
Adam Pepper
Luke Sherbon
Ricky Evans
Steff Edwards
Scott Ruscoe
Matty Williams
Craig Williams
Connell Rawlinson
Marcus Giglio
Subs Luke Powell
Aneurin Thomas
Michael Howard
Anthony Finselbach
Scott Ruscoe > Alex Darlington 63'
Craig Williams > Craig Jones 68'
Marcus Giglio > Matthew Berkeley 72'
32' Luke Powell > Steff Edwards
63' Anthony Finselbach > Adam Pepper
68' Aneurin Thomas > Gareth Hughes
23' James McCarten
26' Sion James
41' Adam Pepper
73' Aneurin Thomas
  Neil Doyle     348