League Cup
Sun 05 Apr 2009 : Latham Park, Newtown / 13:00

Bangor City

0 - 2

The New Saints

11' John Leah (p)
75' Conall Murtagh
10-man Saints too strong for Bangor
THE New Saints lifted the Loosemores League Cup with a 2-0 win to make it six times unlucky in the final for Bangor City.
And the Saints won despite playing more than half the game with 10 men after the 42nd-minute dismissal of striker Matthew Berkeley following an off-the-ball incident which left Michael Johnstone on the deck.
Despite a bright start from Bangor, TNS had led from the 11th-minute when John Leah converted a penalty after Jamie Brewerton had shoved Steve Evans in the back.
Evans was forced to head off the line soon afterwards, but Alex Darlington could have added a second after charging down a clearance, only to send a weak shot at City keeper Paul Smith.
City nearly levelled soon after the red card when Les Davies hit the bar with a stinging shot after Sion Edwards had beaten Barry Hogan down the left hand side and crossed from the byline.
But they failed to take advantage of their numerical advantage in the second half and John Leah nearly added a second for TNS straight from the kick-off only to fire over the bar.
City's main threat came from set pieces and the long throws of Peter Hoy, but they were never able to seriously trouble Saints' keeper Paul Harrison, although an Edwards shot was cleared off the line by Evans from a Marc Limbert corner.
An overhead kick from Peter Hoy was dealt with by TNS keeper Paul Harrison, while Scott Ruscoe brought a good save from Blues' keeper Paul Smith after being put clear by Darlington.
TNS made the game safe 15 minutes from time when John McKenna's deep cross was well kept in play by Darlington on the byline and he squared for Conall Murtagh to score from the edge of the six-yard box.
Sub Paul McManus saw his shot saved by Harrison, but Ruscoe should have added a third for the Saints only to be denied in a one-on-one with Smith.

Bangor v TNS
Steve Evans goes down as TNS are awarded an 11th-minute penalty.
Paul Smith
Dave Swanick
Peter Hoy
Michael Johnston
James Brewerton
Kieran Killackey
Marc Limbert
Michael Walsh
Les Davies
Chris Seargeant
Sion Edwards
Line-ups Paul Harrison
Barry Hogan
Tommy Holmes
Phil Baker
Steve Evans
John Leah
Scott Ruscoe
Alex Darlington
Matthew Berkeley
John McKenna
Conall Murtagh
Martyn Beattie
Paul McManus
Kevin Lloyd
Andy Mitchell
Clive Williams
Subs John Toner
Duane Courtney
Craig Whitfield
Kevin Lloyd > Dave Swanick 73'
Paul McManus > Sion Edwards 73'
Andy Mitchell > Michael Johnston 82'
90' Craig Whitfield > John Leah
90' Duane Courtney > Alex Darlington
42' Matthew Berkeley
76' John McKenna
  Phil Southall     555