League Cup
Sun 18 Mar 2007 : Park Avenue / 15:00

Caersws FC

1 - 1

Rhyl FC

Graham Evans 98'
106' Dave Cameron
Caersws v Rhyl
Graham Evans strikes to give Caersws the lead [John Baker].
Bluebirds triumph in shoot-out
THE return of the wintry weather ensured this was no classic, but Caersws deservedly won the Challenge Cup for the third time in their history.
Played in the teeth of near gale-force winds that made constructive football impossible, the first 90 minutes yielded no goals. The Bluebirds had the better of the first half but were restricted mainly to long range efforts. The boot was on the other foot in the second half as Rhyl had the elements behind them, but front pair Lee Hunt and Andy Moran had little in the way of chances.
But keeper Andy Mulliner was forced to produce an excellent save on 62 minutes when he pushed Andy Moran's 25-yard effort over the bar. Caersws produced a good move when excellent interplay between Neil Mitchell and Martin Plant led to Damien Currier shooting over from the edge of the box.
Four minutes before the final whistle, Mulliner was forced to save bravely low down in a crowded box from a deflection but in the ninth minute of extra-time, Caersws went in front, Graham Evans swivelling to thread a sublime effort into the top far corner beyond a stranded John Gann.
With the wind again at Rhyl's backs in the second part of extra time, Mulliner was forced to push Marc Connolly's effort over for a corner, from which Rhyl controversially equalised. Sub Dave Cameron appeared to bundle keeper and ball into the back of the net, but referee Brian Lawlor ignored fierce protests and allowed the goal to stand.
Caersws kept their nerve in the penalty shoot-out in front of the massed Rhyl fans with Mulliner saving the first from Moran, while Chris Venables and Graham Evans made no mistake.
Dave Cameron's kick was saved and Connolly hit the post leaving veteran Colin Reynolds to fire the winner for the jubilant Bluebirds.
Andy Mulliner
Andrew Thomas
Lloyd Grist
Colin Reynolds
Damien Currier
Graham Jones
Andy Davies
Neil Mitchell
Graham Evans
Martin Plant
Geraint Lewis
Line-ups John Gann
Mark Powell
Stuart Graves
Mark Connolly
George Horan
James Brewerton
Gareth Wilson
Andy Moran
Lee Hunt
Conall Murtagh
Alex Hay
Chris Venables
Jack Bermingham
Ian Probert
Subs Dave Cameron
Adrian Moody
Dylan Owen
Chris Venables > Martin Plant 72'
55' Adrian Moody > Stuart Graves
105' Dave Cameron > Mark Powell
91' Conall Murtagh
  Brian Lawlor     400