Welsh Cup match report

FAW Welsh Cup Round 7
Sat 5 May / Nantporth, Bangor
Cefn Druids
The New Saints
Scorers 13' Greg Draper
15' Alex Darlington
Saints make it a double
Cefn Druids v TNSTHE New Saints clinched their second Welsh Premier League and Welsh Cup double with a 2-0 final victory over Cefn Druids at Nantporth.
Goals from Greg Draper and Alex Darlington inside the first quarter of an hour sealed the final victory, but the Huws Gray Alliance Druids emerged with considerable credit after limiting any further damage against the full-timers and have the lucrative consolation of a place in the Europa League.
TNS dominated the first-half and Ryan Fraughan went close with a 25-yarder that was tipped onto a post by keeper Chris Mullock.
But the Saints soon opened their account when Fraughan's free-kick from the right was headed home by Draper past a static Mullock.
It was the keeper's only blemish on an otherwise superb performance, despite being beaten again almost immediately. He was only able to parry a Fraughan shot from outside the box and Darlington reacted quickest to squeeze the rebound home from a narrow angle.
Mullock went on to palm away a Fraughan piledriver and make several other crucial saves to limit to score to two at the break.
In a bright start to the second half, the Ancients had their best moments, with Andrew Swarbrick wasting a good chance and TNS keeper Paul Harrison saving from Joe Price.
Tony Cann just failed to connect with a right-wing cross from Mark Harris as the Saints failed to find the fluency and penetration of their first-half show.
Fraughan was again the chief threat, crossing for Craig Jones to volley at Mullock, who made a smart reaction save, and then tipped over another effort.
Draper saw a shot cleared off the line and Chris Seargeant shot straight at the keeper, but TNS were able to maintain their record of winning the cup without conceding a goal as Swarbrick was just wide with a late effort.
Photo: Greg Draper celebrates the first TNS goal with Aeron Edwards.
Cefn Druids
The New Saints
Chris Mullock
Mark Harris
Joe Price
Adam Hesp
Tom McElmeel
George Hughes
Marc Griffiths
Kieron Quinn
Tony Cann
Andrew Swarbrick
Warren Duckett
Paul Harrison
Simon Spender
Chris Marriott
Phil Baker
Steve Evans
Christian Seargeant
Aeron Edwards
Greg Draper
Alex Darlington
Craig Jones
Ryan Fraughan
Paul Speed > Andrew Swarbrick 90'
Jack Edwards > Keiron Quinn 88'
John Keegan
Ian Hughes
Lewis Jones
68' Tom Roberts > Ryan Fraughan
77' Nicky Ward > Greg Draper
84' Scott Ruscoe > Aeron Edwards
Sam Finley
Connell Rawlinson
65' Alex Darlington
Referee Kevin Parry
Attendance 731