Welsh Cup match report

FAW Welsh Cup Round 6
Sat 31 Mar / Park Avenue, Aberystwyth
Bala Town
The New Saints
Scorers 8' Nicky Ward
13' Greg Draper
27' Ryan Fraughan
62' Aeron Edwards
Super Saints too good for Bala
Bala v TNSA SUPERB display from the Saints booked a place in the Welsh Cup final for the first time since 2005 as Bala Town were despatched 4-0 at Aberystwyth's Park Avenue.
The result was never in doubt after a fruitful opening 12 minutes which yielded two goals, as the Lakesiders were thoroughly outclassed.
After Mark Jones had fired an opening salvo for Bala just wide of a post, the Saints took the lead when a byline cross from Tom Roberts was farmed back by Greg Draper for S4/C's man-of-the-match Nicky Ward to turn into the far corner.
And Draper, who flew back 11,000 miles earlier this week after firing New Zealand to the Olympic Games, showed no sign of jet lag when he teed himself up 25 yards out before hitting an unstoppable volley past keeper Terry McCormick.
On 27 minutes, Aeron Edwards beat Stuart Jones down the byline and, when his cross was cleared to the edge of the box, Ryan Fraughan kept his cool and picked his spot before firing into the back of the net.
Bala's strike force of Lee Hunt and Chris Mason struggled to make an impact but the best chance for Colin Caton's side arrived soon after the break when Mason was denied by TNS keeper Paul Harrison's legs after being set-up by Hunt.
Saints added a fourth just past the hour when Fraughan's overhit corner was cheekily back-flipped by Alex Darlington and Peter Doran's clearance fell to Edwards, who drove into the far corner from just outside the box.
Hunt added to Bala's woe with a dismissal following a studs-up challenge on Phil Baker and only a superb save from McCormick denied substitute Craig Jones from adding a fifth for the rampant victors, who have yet to concede a goal in this year's cup campaign.
Photo: Ryan Fraughan beats Conall Murtagh to fire the third TNS goal [Phil Blagg].
Bala Town
The New Saints
Terry McCormick
John Irving
Steff Edwards
Stuart Jones
Mike Byron
Conall Murtagh
Mark Connolly
Mark Jones
Lee Hunt
Chris Mason
Peter Doran
Paul Harrison
Simon Spender
Chris Marriott
Phil Baker
Steve Evans
Nicky Ward
Tom Roberts
Alex Darlington
Greg Draper
Aeron Edwards
Ryan Fraughan
Stephen Brown > Chris Mason 63'
Danny Williams > Stuart Jones 81'
Ross Jefferies
Rees Darlington
Mark Pullman
78' Craig Jones > Tom Roberts
81' Connell Rawlinson > Steve Evans
85' Chris Seargeant > Ryan Fraughan
Sam Finley
Scott Ruscoe
Lee Hunt 77'
Stuart Jones 52'
Lee Hunt 72'
65' Steve Evans
Referee Dean John
Attendance 282