Welsh Cup match report

FAW Welsh Cup Round 3
Sat 3 Dec 2011 / Park Hall
The New Saints
Bryntirion Athletic
Alex Dsrlington 3'
Matty Williams 16'
Greg Draper 39'
Phil Baker 43'
Greg Draper 56'
Simon Spender 61'
Six-goal Saints cruise past Athletic
TNS v BryntirionWELSH Leaguers Bryntirion Athletic put up little resistance as The New Saints cruised into the fourth round of the Welsh Cup with a 6-0 win at Park Hall.
There was little doubt about the outcome once Alex Darlington had given the Saints a third-minute lead after Matty Williams laid-off a cross after Tom Roberts had intercepted a Bryn clearance.
Darlington hit the post with another effort from Simon Spender's cross before Williams added the second on 16 minutes from Chris Seargeant's long ball forward.
Visiting keeper Peter Blain deflected a Chris Williams drive onto the bar before the excellent Spender provided a lob over the defence for sub Greg Draper, on for the injured Matty Williams, to chip the third on 39 minutes.
Seargeant's free-kick from the left was then met with a glancing header from Phil Baker into the far corner to put the game out of reach before half-time.
Barry Hogan carved the opening for Draper to add his second 11 minutes after the break before Spender gained some reward with his first goal for TNS, dispossessing Blain before steering the ball into an empty net.
Draper was only denied a hat-trick by a great Blain diving save and a one-on-one block from the keeper and then dragged a chance wide of the far post.
Sub Craig Jones came on to heap further pressure on the Bryn defence and twice provided crosses for Draper which were both saved by Blain as well.
The Saints were rarely troubled at the back but the visitors did find the net when already six goals down, only for an assistant's offside flag to deny them a consolation goal.
Photo: Greg Draper beats Bryn keeper Peter Blain for his second and the Saints' fifth goal.
The New Saints
Bryntirion Athletic
Paul Harrison
Simon Spender
Tom Roberts
Phil Baker
Connell Rawlinson
Barry Hogan
Chris Seargeant
Aeron Edwards
Alex Darlington
Matty Williams
Chris Williams
Peter Blain
Ricky Hodge
Rhys Llewellyn
Paul Evans
Sean Williams
John Paul Dodd
Ian Turner
Tomas Wellington
Jon Cuss
Anthony Rawlings
Martin Dando
Greg Draper > Matty Williams 22'
Scott Ruscoe > Aeron Edwards 59'
Craig Jones > Chris Williams 70'
Steve Evans
Alex Ramsay
32' Simon Prangley > Sean Williams
65' Brandon Walters > Ian Turner
83' Ian Gearie > John Paul Dodd
Nathan Jones
Paul Wiseman
52' Tomas Wellington
Referee Bryn Markham Jones
Attendance 187