Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Caernarfon Town
Prestatyn Town pictured with the Huws Gray Alliance trophy which they lifted in 2017.

THE Huws Gray Alliance is the second tier of the Welsh football pyramid for clubs from north and mid-Wales.

South Wales has the parallel Welsh Football League Division 1.

At the end of the season the champions of both second tier leagues are eligible for promotion to the Welsh Premier, if they can gain the FAW's domestic club licence. If not, the runner-up may also qualify.

Teams that have gained promotion from the Alliance in recent years are Welshpool Town (2002), Porthmadog (2003), Airbus UK (2004), Llangefni Town (2007), Prestatyn Town (2008 and 2017), Bala Town (2009), Connah's Quay (2012), Rhyl (2013), Cefn Druids (2014 and 2016) and Llandudno (2015).

In 2010/11, the number of clubs in the league was reduced to 16 with Caersws, Cefn Druids, Connah's Quay, Porthmadog, Rhyl and Welshpool all dropping down from the Welsh Premier. 

Prestatyn Town were the Huws Gray Alliance champions in 2016/17 and were promoted back to the Welsh Premier League.

Airbus UK, Caernarfon, Caersws, Flint Town United, Holywell Town, Porthmadog, Rhayader Town and Rhyl are all former members of the Welsh Premier/League of Wales.