Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

[Left] Turnstile at Oswestry Town and [right] behind the goal at the Wierglodd, home of Rhayader Town.

PROMOTED from the Huws Gray Alliance in 2015, Llandudno brought to 39 the total of clubs to have featured in the League since it was founded in 1992. 

Some of the clubs no longer exist or have fallen on hard times. Ebbw Vale sadly folded in 1998, just 12 months after featuring in the Uefa InterToto Cup. Oswestry Town's recent chequered history ended in a merger with TNS in 2003, while Maesteg Park faced extinction in 2010.

Seven-times Welsh Premier champions Barry Town ply their trade in the Welsh League, while inaugural champions Cwmbran Town dropped through three tiers of the Welsh League into the Gwent League. Abergavenny Thursdays, Cemaes Bay and Llanidloes amongst others, also toil down the pyramid.

Rhayader Town also ceased to exist in 2006 blaming lack of local interest and support in their endeavours to sustain life in the Spar Mid Wales League, although they later re-formed and won their way back into the Cymru Alliance in 2010.

Here are histories for the clubs who are 'gone but not forgotten', accompanied by complete stats for the seasons from 1992 to the present day. 

The histories were compiled originally by Dave Rapson, but have been updated where possible.