First-ever goal

The first-ever goal in the League of Wales was scored by Duncan Andrew of Caersws in a 3-2 defeat at Aberystwyth, but the fastest goal on opening day was scored by Mitch Patton in a 2-1 Afan Lido win over Connah's Quay Nomads, a game which kicked-off 30 minutes later on 15 August 1992.

Highest attendance

Highest-ever attendance at a Welsh Premier game is the 2,746 who watched Barry Town play Caernarfon Town at Jenner Park on Boxing Day 1997.

Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

THE Welsh Premier - the national league of Wales - once again kick-offs the 2018/19 season with 12 clubs, after a reduction in size from 18 clubs in 2009/10.

Caernarfon Town and Llanelli Town both won a return to the top flight, promoted as Welsh League and Huws Gray Alliance champions respectively.  

The New Saints finished the campaign as champions for the 12th time, with Bangor City finishing as runners-up but relegated due to a refusal of the FAW Tier 1 licence..

Connah's Quay, Bala Town and Cefn Druids qualified for the Europa League.

There is no route for promotion from the Welsh Premier, although the champion side is entered in the Uefa Champions League, with two clubs entered in the Europa League alongside the Welsh Cup winners.

Fixture format

The clubs will play each other twice in the first phase of the 2018/19 competition.

The league will then split into top six and bottom six, with the clubs in those groups playing each other twice again to make a 32-fixture league season.

No club in the bottom six may finish higher than seventh, no matter how many points are gained during the split stage.

Clubs finishing in third to seventh position will then take part in a play-off to determine who gains the third Europa League spot the following season.

Should the Welsh Cup winners be amongst those clubs, the eighth placed club would be invited into the play-offs.

Because of this, the season will be extended, as the play-offs will not be able to take place until after the Welsh Cup final.

Prize money

  • Winners £15,000
  • Runners up £12,500
  • 3rd £10,000
  • 4th £8,000
  • 5th £7,000
  • 6th £6,000
  • 7th £5,000
  • 8th £4,000
  • 9th £3,000
  • 10th £2,000