Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

BIGGEST shock in the first round of the Welsh Cup was Rhyl's 3-2 defeat at Llandudno Albion, a club that was only formed three years ago and has since won successive promotions to the Welsh Alliance.

Dave Maddock opened the scoring for the hosts, before goals from Mark Connolly and Olly Buckley gave Rhyl the lead. But Allan Davies equalised before Ricky Jones scored a last-minute winner against the four-times cup winners, whose manager Niall McGuinness resigned after the game.

Mid Wales League Llanrhaeadr YM also claimed a Huws Gray Alliance scalp, beating FC Queens Park 3-0 with a brace from Daniel Graham and one from Iwan Matthews.

The only all-Alliance tie went to extra-time before Denbigh Town prevailed 4-3 over Holyhead Hotspur, Warren Duckett grabbing the extra-time decider after a 3-3 draw in normal time.

In the southern section, several Welsh League Division 1 sides lost to lower league opposition. STM Sports beat Afan Lido 5-2, while Taffs Well lost 3-2 at Llantwit Major and Pontypridd Town beat Cambrian & Clydach Vale 2-1 in extra-time. Port Talbot Town also went down to a 2-0 defeat away to Aberbargoed Buds while Division 1 leaders Goytre United lost 3-1 at Briton Ferry Llansawel.

The draw for the second round is:

Airbus UK Broughton v Saltney Town
Ammanford v Llantwit Major
Brickfield Rangers v Ruthin Town
Buckley Town v Llandudno Albion
Caernarfon Town v Berriew
Caersws FC v Llanrhaeadr YM
Cwmamman United v Bridgend Street
Cwmbran Celtic v Llanelli Town
Goytre v Briton Ferry Llansawel
Gresford Athletic v Conwy Borough
Haverfordwest County v Aberbargoed Buds
Holywell Town v Guilsfield
Llandudno Junction v Denbigh Town
Llay Miners Welfare v Flint Town United
Pencoed Athletic v Pontypridd Town
Penley FC v Porthmadog FC
Penybont v Monmouth Town
Penydarren v STM Sports
Ton Pentre v Panteg