Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

THE Welsh Premier League is set to remain with 12 participating clubs after a motion to increase the number to 16 next season was "not supported" at a meeting of the FAW Council in Cwmbran today.

A month ago, the WPL says that an "overwhelming majority" of member clubs at a meeting of chairmen in Newtown confirmed their wish to continue with a maximum of 12 participating teams, although this has been refuted privately by one of the clubs present.

The league was cut from 18 to 12 clubs in 2010 when founder members Caersws and Connah's Quay were relegated to the Cymru Alliance, along with Cefn Druids, Porthmadog, Rhyl and Welshpool.

But the format has not proved popular with fans who find as many as six games against the same opponents, depending on cup draws, a stale offering.