Four Nations Tournament match report

Four Nations Tournament
Sun 27 May 2007 / Grant Street Park, Inverness / 14.00
Gareth Seddon 12'
Mitchell Cole 70'
Adie Harris, og 77'
Wales lose their grip on the crown
FAVOURITES England wrapped-up the Four Nations title by going undefeated and without conceding a goal in their three matches.
But despite a comfortable 3-0 scoreline, they were a little fortunate against Wales for whom nothing went to plan.
The Dragons started well and Gareth Seddon's goal on 12 minutes was against the run of play - the Hyde United marksman struck a 25-yarder that deflected over keeper Tony Roberts.
Within a minute the Lions were forced into a change of keeper, Scott Tynan taking the gloves after Lance Cronin was injured in a collision with Chris Todd at a corner.
Wales looked to have equalised when Adam Quinn headed a Chris Moore free-kick into his own net, but the effort was ruled out for offside. Craig Hughes then hit the crossbar with a free-kick and Todd headed against the woodwork from a corner to add to the Welsh frustration.
Tony Pennock's men also had strong claims for a penalty waved aside after Kevin Nicholson appeared to handle a Lee John cross in the box.
Wales were still in with a chance until the 70th-minute, when Glenn Southam's effort was cleared off the line only for substitute Mitchell Cole to stroke home the rebound.
And there was no way back when Seddon's shot was turned into his own net by Adie Harris.
Lance Cronin
Adam Yates
Kevin Nicholson
Adam Quinn
Neal Bishop
Kieran Charnock
Glenn Southam
Paul Carden
John Grant
Gareth Seddon
Andrew Burgess
Tony Roberts
Ian Hillier
Chris Todd
Gethin Jones
Paul Keddle
Lee John
Chris Holloway
Adie Harris
Chris Moore
Rhys Griffiths
Craig Hughes
Danny Foster
Scott Tynan
Mitchell Cole
Mark Molesley
Lewis Chalmers
John Ashton
Paul Brayson
Danny Parslow
Ashley Morris
Kris Thomas
Chris Venables
Graham Evans
Robert Duffy
13' Scott Tynan - Lance Cronin
Mitchell Cole - John Grant 65'
Lewis Chalmers - Glenn Southam 81'
John Ashton - Adam Quinn 86'
58' Chris Venables - Chris Holloway
79' Danny Parslow - Gethin Jones
83' Graham Evans - Craig Hughes
90' Ashley Morris - Rhys Griffiths
Gareth Seddon 22'
35' Craig Hughes
36'Chris Holloway
41' Adie Harris
51' Chris Moore
84' Robert Duffy
Referee Conor Fitzgerald (Ireland)
Attendance 166