First-ever winners

Wrexham were the first-ever winners of the Welsh Cup in 1878, beating Druids 1-0 in the final at Acton Park.
Full Welsh Cup data since 1877 can be found at the Welsh Football Data Archive

FAW Welsh Cup

Paul Harrison lifted the Welsh Cup for The New Saints in 2012.

The Welsh Cup is one of the oldest cup competitions in the world - the first winners in 1878 were Newtown White Star. Over the intervening period, the competition attracted entries from clubs outside of Wales, but was restricted to clubs playing in the Welsh pyramid in 1992.
However, the FAW decided to invite the exiles to play in the 2011/12 competition and Wrexham, Newport County and Merthyr Town accepted.
In its current format, all games are played to a conclusion, with extra-time and penalties if necessary. The semi-finals and final are played at neutral venues.
The Welsh Cup winners qualify for the Europa League (not including the exiles) but, with effect from 2009, the runners-up do not qualify, unless the winners are also the league champions and, therefore, enter the Champions League.
Hence, in 2012, Cefn Druids qualified for Europe via the cup as The New Saints were the Welsh Premier champions.

Prize money
Winners 25,000
Runners-up 15,000
Losing semi-finalists 10,000
Losing quarter-finalists 5,000
Last 16 2,500
Last 32 1,000
Last 64 500

Conference dates 2011/12

Final Saturday 5 May 2012 (Nantporth, Bangor)