Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Women's Premier League

The Welsh Premier Women's League is the top level women's football league in Wales and was founded in 2009.
The winner receives £8,000 and qualifies for a spot in the UEFA Women's Champions League - in previous years the national cup winner gained the European place.
After three seasons of regional conferences with a play-off final between the Northern and Southern champions to crown the winner, the League was run as a national 12-club competition for the first time in season 2012/13.
Swansea City Ladies were the inaugural champions, beating Caernarfon Town Ladies 4-0 in the final, and again lifted the league title in 2010/11.
UWIC, who are now re-named Cardiff Met, lifted the crown in 2014 in a domestic treble of Welsh and League Cups and retained their league title in 2015 and again in 2016.
The competing teams in 2016/17 are:

Abergavenny Women
Aberystwyth Town
Briton Ferry Llansawel
Cardiff City
Cardiff Met
Cyncoed Ladies
Port Talbot Town
Rhyl & Prestatyn
Swansea City

About Us

This is an independent site which has no official connection with the league or its clubs. The help of Soccerfile Wales, the league's official statisticians, in supplying information is gratefully acknowledged.



25 April 2017

Site sponsor

The leading bookmakers for the Welsh Premier League.