Welsh Premier Women's League

Women's Premier League

The Welsh Premier League is the top level women's football league in Wales and was founded in 2009.
The winner receives £8,000 and qualifies for a spot in the UEFA Women's Champions League - in previous years the national cup winner gained the European place.
After three seasons of regional conferences with a play-off final between the Northern and Southern champions to crown the winner, the League was run as a national 12-club competition for the first time in season 2012/13.
Swansea City Ladies were the inaugural champions, beating Caernarfon Town Ladies 4-0 in the final, and again lifted the league title in 2010/11.
UWIC, who are now re-named Cardiff Met, lifted the crown in 2014 in a domestic treble of Welsh and League Cups and retained their league title in 2015.
The competing teams in 2015/16 are:

  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Cardiff City
  • Cardiff Met
  • Cyndoed Ladies
  • Cwmbran Celtic
  • Llandudno Ladies (formerly Llandudno Junction)
  • Newcastle Emlyn
  • Port Talbot Town
  • Rhyl and Prestatyn Ladies
  • Swansea City
  • Wrexham 

Welsh Premier Football

WPWL mini table

Cardiff Metropolitan 28
Swansea City 20
Cardiff City 20
Llandudno Ladies 10
Cyndoed Ladies 10
Port Talbot Town 10
Rhyl & Prestatyn Ladies 9
Cwmbran Celtic 7
Aberystwyth Town 7
Newcastle Emlyn 1
Full table