Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Cardiff Met
The Welsh League Division One is the second tier of the Welsh football pyramid for clubs from south Wales. 

North and mid-Wales has the parallel Huws Gray Alliance.

At the end of the season the champions of both second tier leagues are eligible for promotion to the Welsh Premier, if they can gain the FAW's domestic club licence. If not, the runner-up may also qualify.

Teams that have gained promotion from the Welsh League in recent years are Cardiff Met (2016), Haverfordwest County (2015), Afan Lido (2011), Neath FC (2007), Grange Harlequins (2005), Llanelli (2004), Port Talbot (2000), Haverfordwest County (1997 and 2015) and Carmarthen Town (1996).

The league has operated with a reduced number of 16 clubs since season 2010/11. 

Cardiff Metropolitan University won the title for the first time in 2015/16 and were promoted to the WPL.

Afan Lido, Barry Town, Briton Ferry Llansawel (as Briton Ferry), Grange Quins, Llanelli and Ton Pentre are previous members of the Welsh Premier.

Photo: Cardiff Met University won the Welsh League title for the first time in 2015/16 to clinch promotion to the Welsh Premier League [Tomos Lewis].

About Us

This is an independent site which has no official connection with the league or its clubs. The help of Soccerfile Wales, the league's official statisticians, in supplying information is gratefully acknowledged.



30 March 2017

Site sponsor

The leading bookmakers for the Welsh Premier League.