Share this article

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Caernarfon Town
Caernarfon pictured with the Huws Gray Alliance trophy which they lifted in 2016.

THE Huws Gray Alliance is the second tier of the Welsh football pyramid for clubs from north and mid-Wales.

South Wales has the parallel Welsh Football League Division 1.

At the end of the season the champions of both second tier leagues are eligible for promotion to the Welsh Premier, if they can gain the FAW's domestic club licence. If not, the runner-up may also qualify.

Teams that have gained promotion from the Alliance in recent years are Welshpool Town (2002), Porthmadog (2003), Airbus UK (2004), Llangefni Town (2007), Prestatyn Town (2008), Bala Town (2009), Connah's Quay (2012), Rhyl (2013), Cefn Druids (2014 and 2016) and Llandudno (2015).

In 2010/11, the number of clubs in the league was reduced to 16 with Caersws, Cefn Druids, Connah's Quay, Porthmadog, Rhyl and Welshpool all dropping down from the Welsh Premier. 

Caernarfon Town were the Huws Gray Alliance champions in 2015/16 but were not promoted to the Welsh Premier league as they did not gain the FAW's domestic licence. Instead, runners-up Cefn Druids were promoted back to the top flight after a one season absence.

Bottom club Rhayader Town were relegated with Penrhyncoch and Ruthin Town promoted.

Caernarfon, Caersws, Conwy Borough (as Conwy United), Flint Town United, Holywell Town, Mold Alexandra, Porthmadog and Prestatyn Town are all former members of the Welsh Premier/League of Wales.

About Us

This is an independent site which has no official connection with the league or its clubs. The help of Soccerfile Wales, the league's official statisticians, in supplying information is gratefully acknowledged.



30 March 2017

Site sponsor

The leading bookmakers for the Welsh Premier League.