Three feeder clubs guaranteed cup progress

League Cup draw

THE draw for the first round of next season's Welsh Premier League Cup was made at Saturday's annual general meeting in Ewloe.

In a repeat of last season's second round tie, Bala Town will again host Bangor City and hope for a repeat of the 6-1 win on that occasion.

Newly-promoted Rhyl will be at home to their closest rivals for the Huws Gray Alliance title last season, Cefn Druids.

Gap Connah's Quay play Prestatyn and Newtown are at home to Port Talbot Town in all-Welsh Premier affairs.

Last season the leading eight feeder league clubs were invited to participate for the first time and were drawn together in the first time.

This time, in a regionalised but open draw, three feeder league clubs will be guaranteed progress into the second round, with Buckley Town hosting Conwy Borough in the north, and Haverfordwest County playing Aberdare Town in the south. Caersws of the Huws Gray Alliance have a bye into the next stage.

Holders Carmarthen Town, who beat The New Saints on penalties in last season's final, are exempt until the later stages along with Airbus UK Broughton and TNS. 

The draw in full:

  • Bala Town v Bangor City
  • Rhyl FC v Cefn Druids
  • Buckley Town v Conwy Borough
  • Gap Connah's Quay v Prestatyn Town
  • Haverfordwest County v Aberdare Town
  • Aberystwyth Town v Cambrian & Clydach
  • Newtown AFC v Port Talbot Town
  • Afan Lido v Taffs Well

Ties are to be played on Tuesday or Wednesday, 3 and 4 September.

Welsh Premier Football